Hidden Treasures

The Bible is much more than a book of religion.

Jesus Wants You

The first eleven chapters of Romans are about what God in His love and grace did for us by sacrificing His Son to die on the cross for our sins.  We gratefully receive His salvation, His gift of eternal life, as a gift of His grace, apart from any works of self righteousness. 

Now, beginning in Romans 12,  we begin to learn in verse 1 what our response to God should be as Christians for His wonderful Gift of salvation. Paul writes, “I beseech you therefore brethren”  (fellow Christians) in the light of what you have learned about your salvation in the first 11 chapters.  “present your body as a living sacrifice to God.”  Nothing less than the total surrender of our bodies; including our life, time and strength is worthy of Christ who made the supreme sacrifice for our salvation. 

This surrender of our bodies, our time and our strength to God our Saviour is the theme of not only Romans 12:1-2;  but also I Corinthians 6:19-20  and II Corinthians 5:14-15.

Notice that Paul does not command our submission and obedience to Christ.  That would be painful, useless legalism.  Rather he beseeches us to voluntarily present ourselves and surrender ourselves to the control of Christ by His indwelling Holy Spirit in consideration of the great sacrifice He made for us on the cross.

WHY SHOULD WE PRESENT OURSELVES TO CHRIST?

Let me give you ten reasons for your consideration.  These are all reasons that drew me to make that surrender to Christ as a young man.  I had already received Christ as my Saviour at the age of nine.

 

1. In the light of what I had learned about Jesus and His Great Commission I was aware of my responsibility to share what I had learned and experienced.  In  Luke 12:48  Jesus says. “For unto whomsoever much is given, of him shall be much required.”

2. Jesus bought me, body and soul, with His precious blood sacrifice for my sins.  I am rightfully His, according to  Acts 20:28  and I Corinthians 6:19-20.

Let me share a story I heard as a child  that illustrates this.   Bobby carved from a block of wood, a little sail boat and then took it to the lake to see how it floated.   Suddenly a gust of wind took it out on the lake beyond his ability to retrieve it.  He was saddened, but could do nothing about it.  It was gone!

Several months later he happened to be in a small town miles away on the other side of the lake.  There in a hobby shop show window  he spotted his boat for sale for  $25.00.   He went to the owner of the shop and told how he had lost it.  The owner insisted that if he wanted it back he had to pay the $25.00.  Sadly he walked away and returned home. 

In time,  he finally earned the money needed and returned back to the hobby shop.  There was his boat in the shop with the $25.00 price tag still on it.   He went in and laid the money on the counter and asked for his boat.   The owner sold it to him.   As he walked out the door with his possession, he was heard to say,  “Now little boat you are mine twice.  I made you and I bought you.”   

That’s exactly what God did for us.  He created us to be His.  In our sins we wandered away from Him.  But because of His love for us, He purchased us back from Satan with the shed blood of His Son, Jesus.  We are twice His.  He made us and He purchased us from Satan’s slave market of sin.

3. A third reason I should present my body to God is because He needs me.  He could have chosen to use angels, but He chose to use you and me, redeemed sinners.  All that He asks is that we be clean II Timothy 2:19-20  and available for His use.  Ezekiel 22:30

4. I ought to present my body to Him because it is the least I can do for Him, in the light of all He has done for me.

5. I ought to present my body to Him for His use because it is my reasonable service.  Romans 12;1

6.  It is the safest investment of my life.  There is no way I can lose.  Jesus, the owner, assumes all the risks.  He keeps me and provides for all my needs.  II Timothy 1:12,   Philippians 4:19

7. It’s the most rewarding investment I can make.  Take it from me.  I’ve served him all my adult life, and though I have made personal sacrifices, the rewards far outweigh the sacrifices.  I’ve been richly rewarded in this life and look forward to the eternal rewards yet to come.  Hebrews 11:26-27 and  II Timothy 4:6-8

8. It’s the most worthwhile investment of my life.  I’ve remembered this little verse since childhood.  “Only one life, ’twill soon be past.  Only what’s done for Christ will last.”

9. The life not yielded to Christ is open to the devil’s control.   Romans 6:16-18   You are either being used by Christ or the devil. Which will it be for you?    

10. Do you love Jesus?  Is He your Lord and Master?   Read the  story of the pierced ear in Exodus 21;1-6     Read  II Corinthians 5:14-15.  Who is your Lord?   Christ or Satan?  It’s one or the other.

 

HOW DO I PRESENT MY BODY TO GOD?

 

1. Come just as you are with  your strengths and weaknesses. He made you as you are for His special purpose.   He has all kinds of vessels.  Each one is different.  II Timothy 2:20-21  He can use us with our strengths and weaknesses, if we are clean.

2. He’s cleansed and made us holy by  His shed blood.

3. Trust Him.  He loves you more than you can imagine.  He’s concerned for your happiness and your fulfillment.  Will you trust Him with your life?

4. He wants you as a living sacrifice while you are young and have energy.

Don’t wait until you are old when you can only offer him your wasted life.

God does not promise to reveal all your future to you now.   He leads us one day at a time,  one moment at a time. Will you trust Him?   As a Christian, you have no rights to your body.  You belong to Him. II Corinthians5:14    God doesn’t let you test His will on a 30 day free home trial.

I entrusted my life to Him as a teenager. He’s never let me down.  My wife and I can testify that His will is best.  Life has been an exciting adventure for us throughout.  He has already rewarded us beyond our wildest imagination.     “As for God, His way is perfect!”  Psalm 18:30

January 8, 2012 - Posted by | Romans

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.