Hidden Treasures

The Bible is much more than a book of religion.

My Concert 10/9/11

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v1fb0YFvrMo

A piano concert I presented to Alameda Bible Church on Oct. 9th 2011 just before I retired as pastor on November 6, 2011. If you wish to sing along,  copy and paste and print the songs below  as I play them in this order.   

_

JESUS LED ME ALL THE WAY

John W. Peterson

Someday life’s journey will be o’er

And I shall reach that distant shore.

I’ll sing while ent’ring Heaven’s door-

Jesus led me all the way.

_

Chorus 

_

Jesus led me all the way.

Led me step by step each day.

I will tell the saints and angels

As I lay my burden down.

Jesus led me all the way.

_

If God should let me there review

The winding paths of earth I knew

It would be proven clear and true

Jesus led me all the way.

_

And hitherto my Lord has led,

Today He guides each step I tread.

And soon in Heav’n it will be said

Jesus led me all the way.

 _

I’ve A Longing in MY Heart

        Dorothy Masters

 

I’ve  longing in my  heart for Jesus,

I’ve a longing in my heart to see His face.

I am weary, O so weary, of traveling here below,

I’ve a longing in my heart for Him.

 _

We Shall See His Lovely Face 

             Norman Clayton

We shall see His lovely face, some bright golden morning,

When the clouds have rifted and the shades have flown

Sorrows will be turned to joy, Heartaches gone forever,

No more night. Only light. When we see His face.

_

God shall wipe away all tears .some bright golden morning.

When the journey’s ended and the course is run.

No more crying, pain or death in that home of gladness

Trials cease.  All is peace,  When we see His face.

_

We shall meet to part no more. Some bright golden morning.

At the gates of glory where our loved ones stand

Songs of victory fill the skies  in that hour of greeting.

Endless days, Endless praise when we see His face.

_

  Song of the Soul Set Free

Oswald J. Smith                      Alfred H. Ackley

_

Fairest of ten thousand is Jesus Christ, my Savior,
The Lily of the Valley, The Bright and Morning Star.
He is all my glory, and in this heart of mine
Forevermore I’m singing a song of love divine.

Refrain
‘Tis the song of the soul set free,
And its melody is ringing.
‘Tis the song of the soul set free;
Joy and peace to me it’s bringing.
‘Tis the song of the soul set free;
And my heart is ever singing,
Hallelujah! Hallelujah! The song of the soul set free!

_

Once my heart was burdened, but now I am forgiven,
And with a song of gladness, I’m on my way to heav’n.
Christ is my Redeemer; my Song of Songs is He.
My Savior, Lord, and Master–to Him my praise shall be.

_
 
Angels cannot sing it–this song of joy and freedom,
For mortals only know it, the ransomed and the free.
Slaves were they in bondage and deepest misery;
But now they sing triumphant their songs of liberty.

_

 HE GIVETH MORE GRACE

Annie Johnson Flint

_

He giveth more grace as our burdens grow greater,
He sendeth more strength as our labors increase;
To added afflictions He addeth His mercy,
To multiplied trials He multiplies peace.

_

His love has no limits, His grace has no measure,
His power no boundary known unto men;
For out of His infinite riches in Jesus
He giveth, and giveth, and giveth again.

_

When we have exhausted our store of endurance,
When our strength has failed ere the day is half done,
When we reach the end of our hoarded resources
Our Father’s full giving is only begun.

_

           I NEVER WALK ALONE
Words and music       Alfred H. Ackley

_

 I never walk alone, I have the Saviour,
Who walks beside me everywhere I go;
My heart rejoices in His loving favor,
And all who will His saving grace may know.

_

Chorus
I never walk alone, Christ walks beside me,
He is the dearest Friend I’ve ever known,
With such a Friend to comfort and to guide me,
I never, no, I never walk alone.

_

I never walk alone, in stormy weather,
When winds of trouble sweep about my head;
I know I’m safe, because we are together,
And ’round me His protecting love is spread. 

_

FOLLOW ME
 Ira Stanphill

_
I traveled down a lonely road and no one seemed to care,
The burden on my weary back had bowed me to despair,
I oft complained to Jesus how folks were treating me,
And then I heard Him say so tenderly,
“My feet were also weary upon the Calv’ry road,
The cross became so heavy I fell beneath the load,
Be faithful weary pilgrim, the morning I can see,
Just lift your cross and follow close to me.”

_

“I work so hard for Jesus” I often boast and say,
“I’ve sacrificed a lot of things to walk the narrow way,
I gave up fame and fortune; I’m worth a lot to thee,”
And then I heard Him gently say to me,
“I left the throne of glory and counted it but loss,
My hands were nailed in anger upon a cruel cross,
But now we’ll make the journey with your hand safe in mine,
So lift your cross and follow close to me.”

_

Oh Jesus if I die upon a foreign field someday
‘Twould be no more than love demands, no less could I repay,
“No greater love hath mortal man than for a friend to die,”
These are the words he gently spoke to me,
“If just a cup of water I place within your hand
Then just a cup of water is all that I demand,”
But if by death to living they can thy glory see,
I’ll take my cross and follow close to thee.

_

Negro spiritual

 

I’m so glad Jesus llifted me.

I’m so glad Jesus llifted me.

I’m so glad Jesus llifted me.

Singing glory, Hallelujah!

Jesus lifted me.

_

I Will Pilot Thee       

Emily D. Wilson

_

Sometimes when my faith would falter

And no sunlight I can see

I just lift mine eyes to Jesus

And I whisper, “Pilot me.”

Chorus

Fear thou not, for I’ll be with thee

I will still thy pilot be,

Never mind the tossing billows,

Take my hand and trust in Me.

_

Often when my soul is weary

And the days seem oh so long,

I just look up to my Pilot

And I hear this blessed song.

_

When temptations round me gather

And I almost lose my way,

Somehow in the raving tempest,

I can hear my Saviour say,

When I come to Jordan’s river

And its troubled waters see

On the brink I’ll see my Saviour

And I know He’ll pilot me.

  The Secret of His Presence 

Ellen Lakshmi Goreth        George C. Stebbins

In the secret of His presence

How my soul delights to hide.

Oh, how precious are the lessons

Which I learn at Jesus side

Earthly cares can never vex me,

Neither trials lay me low;

For when Satan comes to tempt me,

To the secret place I go.

To the secret place I go. 

When my soul is faint and thirsty

‘Neath the shadow of His wing

There is cool and pleasant shelter

And a fresh and crystal spring;

And my Saviour rests beside me

As we hold communion sweet:

If I tried, I could not utter

What He says when thus we meet.

What He says when thus we meet.

Only this I know I tell Him

All my doubts, my griefs and fears;

Oh how patiently He listens

And my drooping soul He cheers:

Do you think He ne’er reproves me?

What a false friend He would be,

If He never never told me

Of the sins which He must see.

Of the sins which He must see.

Would you like to know the sweetness

Of the secret of the Lord?

Go and hide beneath His shadow:

This shall then be your reward;

And when- e’er you  leave the silence

Of that happy meeting place,

You must mind and bear the image

Of the Master in your face,

Of the Master in your face.

        The Haven of Rest

H.L. Gilmour   George D. Moore

My soul in sad exile, was out on life’s sea,

So burdened with sin and distress,

Til I heard a sweet voice saying “Make me your choice.”

And I entered the haven of rest

Refrain

I’ve anchored my soul in the haven of rest,

I’ll sail the wide seas no more;

The tempest may sweep o’er the wild stormy deep

In Jesus I’m safe evermore.

I yielded myself to His tender embrace,

And faith taking hold of the Word,

My fetters fell off and I anchored my soul.

The haven of rest in my Lord.

The song of my soul since the Lord made me whole

Has been the old story so blest,

Of Jesus who’ll save whosoever will have

A home in the haven of rest.

 Holy Holy Holy

Reginald Heber                                      John B. Dykes

Holy, Holy, Holy!  Lord God Almighty!

Early in the morning our songs shall rise to Thee

Holy, Holy Holy!  Merciful and Mighty!

God in three Persons, blessed Trinity.

Holy, Holy, Holy!  All the saints adore Thee,

Casting down their golden crown around the glassy sea;

Cherubim and seraphim falling down before Thee

Which wert and art and evermore shall be.

Holy, Holy, Holy, .Tho’  the darkness hide Thee,

Tho’ the eye of sinful man Thy glory may not see,

Only Thou art holy; There is none beside Thee

Perfect in love and power and purity.

Holy, Holy, Holy, Lord God Almighty!

All Thy works shall praise Thy name in earth and sky and sea;

Holy, Holy, Holy, Merciful and Mighty!

God in three persons, Blessed Trinity,!

November 9, 2011 - Posted by | 2011

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.