Hidden Treasures

The Bible is much more than a book of religion.

In the Midst of a Faltering Economy

Dr. Les Lofquist, Executive Director of I.F.C.A. (Independent Fundamental Churches of America), referring to  the Wall Street sell-off of October 2008, writes about the founding of the I.F.C.A. as follows.

 

“When these events began to boil, I thought about the founding of I.F.C.A.

 

“The stock market crashed in October 28 and 29, 1929.  America reeled economically. Yet the I.F.C.A. was founded a little over three months later on February 6,  1930. Our first convention was held June 24-26, 1930.  As America entered the Great Depression. the I.F.C.A. continued to grow. What fueled the I.F.C.A.’s growth during the Depression?  Is there a lesson for us today?

 

“The answer is found in a full page ad appearing in the February 1932 issue of  The Pioneer of a New Era, (the original name for today’s VOICE magazine, the organ of the I.F.C.A.. This ad had the following headline. “WITHOUT A VISION, THE PEOPLE PERISH.” Then this text followed. “The great need today in the I.F.C.A. and in our churches is not for better times, easier finances, BUT FOR A VISION.”

 

“In the depths of the Depression, the leaders of the I.F.C.A. determined that despite the harsh economy they were facing, their task remained the same.  They called for vision. They called for renewed ministry.

 

“The ad ended with “I.F.C.A. PREACHERS, GET IN ACTION!  KEEP UP YOUR MISSONARY ACTIVITIES.  THERE IS NO DEPRESSION IN HEAVEN.  GOD STILL HEARS AND ANSWERS PRAYER.”

 

“We can learn the lesson from our I.F.C.A. founders.  Today we need vision and faith and missionary activities….  Where is your focus: on the faltering economy or on the task we face as Christians?”

 

October 15, 2008 - Posted by | Les Lofquist

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.