Hidden Treasures

The Bible is much more than a book of religion.

God Is Love

God is Love. Such simple, well known words and yet how difficult for us to grasp! None of us can totally comprehend God’s love. If we could only begin to understand a little of it, what a difference it would make in our relationship with Him and with others. What peace and joy and comfort it would bring to our troubled hearts!

 

Because God is infinite; His love is infinite, endless, immeasurable and it has no boundaries.

 

Because God is everlasting, His love is everlasting. It had no beginning and it has no end. “The Lord hath appeared of old unto me saying, Yea, I have loved thee with an everlasting love; therefore with lovingkindness have I drawn thee.” Jeremiah 31:3

 

Because God is omnipotent, His love is powerful enough to accomplish whatever is best for me. Read Romans 8:28-39 and as you read it, learn that God takes all the circumstances of your life and mixes them together for your good. Nothing is too good for God to give to His child and no power can destroy His love for us. If I delight myself in Him, He promises to give me the desires of my heart. Psalm 37:4

 

Because God is omniscient (all-knowing), He sees the end from the beginning and knows what is best for me. God is pleased when I trust Him with plans for my future. Jeremiah 29:11 Isaiah 55:8-9

 

Because God is holy, His love is holy and pure. Isaiah 6:1-8 Revelation 4 God, who is omnipotent (all-powerful) could be an ogre or a tyrant if His love were not holy. Because of His holiness and purity, I need not fear any harm from Him; only good.

 

Because God is omnipresent, His love is with me wherever I am and regardless of my situation. He is able to show His love to me. Psalm 139:1-18

 

Because God is immutable, His love is unchanging. He is not fickle. He does not with-hold His love from us as we do from others when we think it is undeserved.

 

Because I am human and have my physical and emotional weaknesses, I cannot always feel His love; but He is still with me, working out good in my life. Job 23:8-10

 

God’s love is practical. It is more than mere words. God’s love is self-giving and is shown to me in His Son, Jesus, who died to pay the penalty for my sins. John 3:16 Romans 5:8 Only as I trust Jesus and know Him as my Saviour and Lord, can I ever know His love for me. None of us deserve God’s love. We can never earn it. It is totally a free gift of His grace and He lavishes it on His children.

 

Those who spurn that love will one day be forced to face His wrath. John 3:36; 5:24 Revelation 6:12-17

 

If we are yielded Christians, living under the control of His Holy Spirit, Christ fills us with His love and it spills over to others. I John 4:19; 2:5; John 14:15; 15:12-14

April 11, 2007 - Posted by | Love

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.