Hidden Treasures

The Bible is much more than a book of religion.

Lordship

Jesus is Lord, whether we bow to His Lordship or not. Read what the Apostle Peter said about  the lordship of Jesus Christ in Acts 2:36 when he preached in Jerusalem his famous sermon at Pentecost. He announced “Therefore, let all the House of Israel know assuredly that God hath made that same  Jesus, whom ye crucified,  both Lord and Christ.”   So Jesus is Lord whether we recognize and bow before Him or not.

 

Must one make Jesus Lord of his life to be saved?   NO!

 

It is clear throughout the New Testament that we are saved simply by understanding we are sinners, under the wrath of God and helpless to save ourselves and by receiving by faith  the Lord Jesus Christ as our Saviour from sin. PERIOD!  Acts 16:31  John 1:12  John 3:16-18  John 5:24  Ephesians 2:4-9  Titus 3:4-6  I John 4:14 

 

When I was nine years old there came a time when I heard the Gospel in a children’s meeting  and realized I was a sinner, lost and headed for Hell. That night, as I knelt with a lady, she helped me to understand that Jesus had died for my sins and that if I would trust Him, I would be saved.  I gladly  received Him as my Saviour.  At that time I knew nothing of His Lordship.  I knew nothing about the Holy Spirit.  All I knew was that I was a sinner; that Jesus had died on the cross to pay the penalty for my sins; and that if I would trust Him, He would save me.  I went home that night with a song in my heart.  A heavy burden  of guilt and  fear had been lifted from my heart and I had peace with God.  I knew for certain that if I died, I would be with Jesus in Heaven.  That event was  years ago and to this day I have continued to rejoice in the blessed assurance of salvation in Jesus.

 

Can one live the Christian life without making Jesus Lord?   NO!

 

You may be a Christian, but if you have not bowed to the Lordship of Christ, you are not living the Christian life.  That is a shame and an awful contradiction.  When I came to an understanding, perhaps several months after my conversion, that Jesus is Lord and that He has a right to be Lord of my life, I gladly surrender my life to Him.

 

Listen as the Apostle Paul reasons with you in II Corinthians 5:14-15  “For the love of Christ constrains us because we thus judge that if one died for all, then were all dead. And He died for all that they which live should not henceforth live unto themselves, but unto Him who died for them and rose again.”   How can one who has received the gift of salvation, go on living for Himself, as though Christ’s sacrifice meant nothing to him?

 

If you’ve never taken that step I encourage you to read Romans 12:1-2 and bow to His Lordship.  “I beseech you therefore brethren, by the mercies of God that ye present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service.

And be not conformed to this world (world-system): but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what it that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.”

 

It is the only reasonable thing to do.

 

It is the least we can do in gratitude for what Jesus did for us.

 

It is the best gift we can give Him.

 

When I surrendered to His Lordship, this is what happenedI didn’t understand the theology of it then,  but I enjoyed the reality of it.

 

The Holy Spirit had entered my life the moment I put my trust in Christ. He had convicted and  regenerated me. Now He indwelt me. Romans. 8:9

 

When I surrendered to Jesus as my Lord,  His Spirit  filled and controlled me giving me  His supernatural  power to live the Christian life.  Ephesians 5:18-21

 

What are the consequences of rejecting the Lordship of Christ?

When one rejects the Lordship of Christ, he has no other choice but to try to run his own life and suffer the consequences.  That’s as unwise as trying to cross the Atlantic Ocean by yourself  in a little swimming pool rubber boat without a paddle or navigation instruments.  You are at the mercy of storms and sharks without  a chance of success.  

 

Furthermore it is  ungrateful, to say the least;  to receive Christ’s gift of salvation and thumb your nose at Christ and totally ignore His plan for your life.  Who loves you more than the God who made you?  Why would you even consider continuing the journey of life without Your Saviour and best Friend.

 

I encourage you to read and ponder Proverbs chapter 1  and then decide whether  you will surrender to Christ or ignore Him and go your own way.  If you decide to go your own way, don’t expect Jesus to be at your beck and call when tragedy strikes!

 

One day Jesus will return to this earth as King of kings and Lord of lords. Regardless of whether you surrender to Christ or go your own way,  understand this. Jesus is returning to this earth to exterminate His enemies and set up His Kingdom.  If you are a Christian, you will meet Him at the Bema Judgement Seat to give an account of how you lived you life.  I encourage you to go to  the PROPHECY link  and read about the BEMA JUDGMENT.   I challenge you to do the right thing.  Receive Jesus Christ as your Saviour and surrender to Him now as your Lord.

 

June 10, 2006 - Posted by | Service Series

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.