Hidden Treasures

The Bible is much more than a book of religion.

Heaven

When I put my trust in Christ as a nine year old boy, Heaven became my eternal home. I became a citizen of Heaven. I have not renounced my citizenship on this earth. I am proud to be an American, but that citizenship is only temporary and passing. I joined the ranks of those listed in Hebrews 11, for whom this world system has little attraction. I am a stranger and a pilgrim passing through life on this earth.

Oh, I enjoy the beauty of God’s creation. I enjoy a wide variety of beautiful music, both sacred and secular.
I enjoy delicious food and I delight in the love and intimacy of family life and friends.

For over sixty years as a Christian, Jesus has been my life. My chief desire is to live to influence people to know and glorify God by coming to Him through His Son Jesus who died on a cross for our sins and rose again. . We who trust Him can walk and talk with God in this life and be prepared to spend eternity with Him in Heaven.

What is Heaven Like?


Paul writes in I Corinthians 2:9 that it is beyond our wildest imaginations and words cannot describe it. The Bible drops little hints and paints word pictures for us concerning our eternal Home.

Heaven is beyond the dimensions of time and space. It is where our holy God dwells. Matthew 6:9 Revelation 4 & 5

Heaven is indescribably beautiful. The Lord Jesus Christ has gone there to prepare our eternal home. John 14:3 II Corinthians 12:2-4 Revelation 21 & 22.

There will be no sin or temptation in Heaven. Satan will have no access to Christians in Heaven. There will be no self-righteous people in Heaven.  Only sinners, who have been cleansed of sin by Christ’s blood and have been given God’s righteousness will dwell with God in Heaven. Revelation 5:9 20:10; 21:27

Heaven will be an eternal rest from our struggles and labors. Revelation 14:13

In Heaven we will enjoy a holy intimacy with Christ and with all God’s family. There will be no more loneliness or estrangement. We who belong to Christ will continue to be part of God’s eternal family.

How can we be sure of Heaven?

Faith in Christ as our Saviour from sin is the ONLY way to Heaven. Contrary to the lies of Satan, there are not many roads to Heaven. John 14:6

For the Christian, eternal life and Heaven begin at the moment of salvation. I John 5:11-13; John 3:36

At the moment of death, our soul is immediately in the presence of God. II Corinthians 5:1-8 When Christ returns for us in a meeting we call the rapture, the bodies of Christians dead and living will be glorified and caught up to be with the Lord forever. I Corinthians 15:50-58; I Thessalonians 4:13-18

However the Christian, though presently bound to his sin-cursed body until death, can presently enjoy living in the presence of God in what is called fellowship. Romans 6:1-14 Ephesians 1:3 Colossians 3:1-3 I Corinthians 1:9 I John 1:3-10

If you are a Christian, you look forward to eternity with Christ in Heaven. At the same time, you can presently enjoy an intimate walk with God each day. Are you living and walking in the glory of His presence right now? Only sin can hinder that walk. Confess it to God as sin and discover the joy and victory of Heavenly citizenship and an intimate, personal relationship with Christ. .

June 6, 2006 - Posted by | Eternity

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.