Hidden Treasures

The Bible is much more than a book of religion.

Justification

Salvation has three tenses: past, present and future. II Corinthians 1:10 outlines these three tenses. “Who delivered us from so great a death, and doth deliver us, in whom we trust He will yet deliver us.”

In this and the following articles on salvation we will emphasize these three tenses as we consider the three major doctrines of salvation: Justification, Sanctification and Glorification.

First, consider Justification. Paul’s Epistle to the Romans is the best place to find a clear explanation of justification.. The theme of Romans is the Righteousness of God.

Our Desperate Need of God’s Righteousness
In Romans 1:18 through 3:20 we have the first truth that needs to be understood and that is our desperate need of God’s righteousness. Without it, no one can live in God’s presence. The problem is that no one is good enough or righteous enough to live in God’s presence in Heaven. We are all born sinners, hopeless and helpless to do right. Romans 5:6,12-19, 3:23 Ephesians 2:12. In Jesus’ Sermon on the Mount He demands in Matthew 5:48 “Be ye therefore perfect even as your Father in Heaven is perfect.” If that does not strike despair and hopelessness to your heart, I don’t know what will. We desperately need God’s righteousness.

God Counts Us Righteous
The second section of Romans deals with how God counts us righteous and fit for Heaven through His gracious act of justification. That’s the theme of Romans 3:21 through 5:21 Justification is God’s gracious work of counting me righteous through the merits of the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ who died and rose again to pay the full penalty of all my sins. When I put my faith in Christ, God puts His righteousness to my account and makes me fit for Heaven. I do not go to Heaven because I am good enough or because I live a righteous life. No one lives the Christian life perfectly. I go to Heaven because Jesus is my righteousness. I Corinthians 1:30 Philippians 3:7-9

As a wealthy man deposits a million dollars in the account of a poor man and makes him rich, so God deposits Jesus’ righteousness to my account and makes me fit to dwell in His presence. II Corinthians 5:21 makes it so clear, Read the verse and let’s go through it together. “He (God) hath made Him, (Jesus) to be sin for us ( He bore my sins on the cross even though He was totally sinless) that we (sinners) might be made the righteousness of God in Him (Jesus). If you are still unsure of your salvation, I urge you to keep reading this verse and ask God to open your spiritual eyesight to understand it. When you understand it and receive Jesus as your only righteousness, you will be born again and fit to dwell with God in Heaven. It’s not a difficult verse to understand. As a nine year old boy I was confronted with this truth and put my faith in Christ. My life was changed from that moment on.

Do you see it, Friend? When I admit I am a sinner and understand I am deserving of Hell and I turn to Jesus to save me; He takes my sins and gives me His righteousness as a free gift.. Isn’t that good news!!! That is why it is called The Gospel. That is the meaning of Justification. When I see myself as a sinner and deserving of Hell and cry to God for His mercy and put my faith in Jesus who died and rose again for my sins; God takes my sins and puts them to Jesus’ account. He takes the perfect righteousness of Jesus and put it to my account, making me fit to live with Him in Heaven. When Jesus died on the cross it became dark and God the Father turned His back on His Son. Jesus cried out “My God, my God, why hast Thou forsaken me?” God gave Him no answer nor comfort.. He totally forsook Him in His death for our sins for, you see, He was bearing the sins of the world. Thank God that because of His great sacrifice for me, I am now a child of God through faith in Christ as my own personal Saviour from sin. As His child I have been brought into fellowship with God and will dwell forever in His presence.

If you see yourself as a sinner, will you right now bow before God and admit to Him that you are a sinner and unworthy of being in His presence and that you are helpless to save yourself? Will you look by faith to Jesus who died on the cross some 2000 years ago and rose again the third day to be your Saviour? Will you ask Him to be your Saviour? He will save you now. Romans 10:9-11 He will justify you from all your sins and count you as righteous as Christ Himself. The perfection demanded in Matthew 5:48 is the righteousness of Christ Himself, imputed to your account.

Go now to the next link, Sanctification, and learn what God has started to do in your life if you are a believer and what He is going to continue to do until you arrive in Heaven.

June 4, 2006 - Posted by | Salvation

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.