Hidden Treasures

The Bible is much more than a book of religion.

Roman Catholicism: Introduction

Since I cannot read hearts, I am in no position to judge who is a true Christian and who is not.  However, I am sure that one who believes he is a Christian simply  because he belongs to a particular church, whether it’s my church or The Roman Catholic Church, or any other church, is deceiving himself and is still lost in his sins.

Though I am in no position to judge hearts and determine who is saved and who is not;  I do have the ability and responsibility to discern what is biblical and what is not biblical.  Christ charges preachers in his Word with the responsibility of preaching the truth and  exposing error.  Romans 16:17-18 I Timothy 4.  II Timothy 3-4. Paul. in Romans 12:9,  teaches us to be discerning “Let love be without dissimulation or hypocrisy.  Abhor that which is evil and cleave to that which is good.”  That is, we are to  love the Truth and  hate that which is false.

One thing is certain.  One who is saved and on his way to Heaven; though not perfect, hates sin and turns from it.  Paul wrote in II Timothy 2:19 ” Nevertheless, the foundation of God standeth sure, having this seal.  The Lord knoweth them that are His. Let everyone that nameth the name of Christ depart  from iniquity.”

In the first century  false religion was infecting the Church and Paul warned of it, charging pastors of the early churches to deal with it by exposing it and by building up the people in God’s Word so they would recognize the Truth from the counterfeit .  Even Jesus had warned of coming false teachers in His Sermon on the Mount in Matthew 7.

I encourage you to read and study my series on DECEPTION on this web site.

In the following messages in this series I want to deal with some of the major tenets of the Roman Catholic Church, exposing  them to the light of God’s Word.  Though I love Catholic people, counting them my friends,  I am charged by God’s Word to expose and warn of error.

April 30, 2006 - Posted by | Roman Catholicism

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.